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Notice to Readers

This report provides summaries of new laws (public acts) significantly affecting transportation

enacted during the 2025 regular legislative session. OLR’s other Acts Affecting reports are, or will
soon be, available on OLR’s website.

Each summary indicates the public act (PA) number. Not all provisions of the acts are included. The
report does not include vetoed acts unless the veto was overridden. Complete summaries of public
acts are, or will soon be, available on OLR’s website.

Readers are encouraged to obtain the full text of acts that interest them from the General
Assembly’s website of the Connecticut State Library.
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Airports and Aviation

Noise Mitigation at Tweed-New Haven Airport

A new law earmarks $1 million of the Connecticut airport and aviation account’s funds each fiscal
year for noise mitigation at Tweed-New Haven Airport and requires it to be spent according to
federal aviation regulations.

By law, the Connecticut Airport Authority, with the Office of Policy and Management (OPM)
secretary’s approval, uses this account for airport and aviation purposes. It is funded by revenue
from the aviation fuel tax, which took effect July 1, 2025 (PA 25-168, § 406, effective July 1,
2025).

Projecting a Laser at an Aircraft

A new law generally prohibits anyone from intentionally projecting a laser on or at an aircraft or its
flight path. It makes violations a class A misdemeanor punishable by a fine of up to $2,000, up to
364 days in prison, or both. The act exempts members of the U.S. and state armed forces and
police officers performing their official duties (PA 25-65, § 28, effective October 1, 2025).

Sales and Use Tax Exemption for Certain Aircraft Industry Joint
Ventures

The legislature extended, from 40 to 50 consecutive years, the duration of the sales tax exemption
for specified business services rendered between participants in certain kinds of joint ventures in
the aircraft industry that existed before January 1, 1986. By law, the exemption for all other
qualifying joint ventures is for 20 consecutive years from the date the joint venture is formed,
incorporated, or organized (PA 25-168, § 369, effective July 1, 2025).

Unmanned Aircraft Operation (Drones)

A new law generally prohibits (1) operating a drone at a height of less than 250 feet above ground
level of a “critical infrastructure facility” (such as an electrical generating facility, an air navigation
facility, or a limited access highway) or within 100 horizontal feet of one and (2) using a drone to
surveil a critical infrastructure facility without prior approval from the facility’s owner or
administrator. Violations are a class A misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of up to $2,000, up to
364 days in prison, or both.

The act also prohibits equipping an aircraft or a drone with a deadly weapon, dangerous
instrument, firearm, ammunition, explosive, or incendiary device, with certain exemptions (such as
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for U.S. or state armed forces member performing official duties). It makes a violation of this
provision a class A misdemeanor (see above) (PA 25-1, §§ 6-8, effective October 1, 2025).

Bicycles, E-Bikes, and Motor Scooters

CHEAPR Incentives for Adaptive E-Bikes

A new law makes adaptive e-bikes to be used by a resident with a disability eligible for a voucher
from the Connecticut Hydrogen and Electric Automobile Purchase Rebate (CHEAPR) Program,
regardless of the price cap that would otherwise apply ($3,000 manufacturer’s suggested retail).

By law, the e-bike voucher program is available until June 30, 2027 (PA 25-65, § 24, effective July
1, 2025).

E-Bike Manufacture and Sale

This session, the legislature made various changes related to the manufacture and sale of e-bikes,
including:

1. generally requiring anyone who modifies an e-bike to change its motor-powered speed
capability or motor engagement to also modify the required label appropriately;

2. prohibiting sellers from representing vehicles as e-bikes if they do not meet state law’s
definition of an e-bike;

3. specifying that vehicles are not e-bikes under the law if they have been configured or
modified by someone to not meet the law’s definition (including through the use of switches
or mobile apps); and

4. requiring sellers to disclose the vehicle’s likely legal classification to customers (PA 25-159,
88 35 & 36, effective October 1, 2025).

E-Bikes on Trails

A new law broadly permits using class 1 e-bikes (which have a 20mph top speed and no throttle) on
bicycle or multi-use trails, unless prohibited by local ordinance. Under prior law, class 1 and 2 e-
bikes were generally allowed on bicycle or multi-use trails or paths, except for those designated for
nonmotorized traffic with a natural tread (unless permitted by ordinance); under the new law, this
restriction applies to class 2 e-bikes only. As under existing law, class 3 e-bikes are not permitted
on any bicycle or multi-use trails or paths (PA 25-159, § 37, effective October 1, 2025).
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One-, Two-, and Three-Wheeled Vehicle Classifications

The legislature modified definitions applicable to lower speed one-, two-, and three-wheeled
vehicles and clarified the treatment of electric powered vehicles in these categories by:

1. replacing the definition of “electric foot scooter” with one for “electric scooter” and
broadening the definition to also include certain electric scooters designed to be ridden
sitting down and

2. expanding the “motor-driven cycle” definition to include (a) motorized unicycles and (b)
vehicles with an electric, gasoline, or hybrid motor, if the motor has a capacity under 50
cubic centimeters (cc), has a wattage less than 3,700 watts, or produces five-brake
horsepower or less (PA 25-159, §§ 38-58, effective October 1, 2025).

Penalties for E-Bike Violations

A new law imposes a specific penalty, making it an infraction, for violating the following e-bike laws:
(1) riding e-bikes where prohibited, including on trails and paths under certain circumstances (as
described above); (2) riding a class 3 e-bike under age 16; and (3) riding an e-bike, including as a
passenger, without a helmet meeting the law’s requirements (PA 25-159, § 37, effective October 1,
2025).

Bus and Rail

Connecticut Public Transportation Council

A new law assigns the Connecticut Public Transportation Council to the Department of
Transportation (DOT) for administrative purposes only. It also requires DOT to assist the council in
carrying out its responsibilities by posting on the department’s website related council reports and
records, including its meeting schedule, agendas, and minutes (PA 25-65, § 35, effective July 1,
2025).

Light Rail and Bus Rapid Transit Signals

New legislation specifies that a “light rail transit signal” has the same meaning as is described in
the federal Manual of Uniform Traffic Control Devices for Streets and Highways (MUTCD) and
includes bus rapid transit signals. Under the act, light rail and bus rapid transit operators must
comply with signals in a specified manner when they are in place (PA 25-65, § 3, effective July 1,
2025).
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Railroad Facility Surveys and Rail Entry Permits

A new law generally allows the DOT commissioner or his agents to enter private property to conduct
certain railroad facilities-related surveys or testing. It also allows the commissioner to issue an entry
permit, on a form he requires, to anyone seeking nonexclusive, temporary access to state-owned
property that supports rail operations (including any rail right-of-way) (PA 25-65, §§ 9-11, effective
July 1, 2025).

Reduced Fare for Public Buses

A new law requires DOT to give up to a 50% fare discount for state-owned or -controlled public
buses to veterans, people age 65 or older, people age 18 or younger, and people with disabilities.
Additionally, it allows school boards to purchase passes for use on these buses at the discounted
rate. School boards may distribute the passes at no cost to their public school students in grades 9-
12 or sell them to these students at cost or for a reduced cost (PA 25-65, § 37, effective October 1,
2025).

Regional Commuter and Freight Mobility Discussions Repeal

This session, the legislature repealed a statute generally requiring the governor to (1) have ongoing
formal discussions with surrounding states about regional commuter and freight mobility and (2)
biennially report to the legislature on these discussions and any actions taken or recommended as
their result (PA 25-65, 8§ 13 & 66, effective July 1, 2025).

Transit District Funding

A new law requires DOT to return to funding urban transit districts based on a formula for urbanized
areas set in federal law, as it had been required to do prior to FY 25. It also eliminates provisions
that (1) froze urban transit districts’ funding to their FY 24 level and (2) required DOT to establish a
grant program to provide additional funding to these transit districts (PA 25-65, § 12, effective July
1, 2025).

Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)-Licensed Businesses
Background Check Requirement for License Applicants

A new law modifies which individuals must undergo a state and national criminal records check for
electronic issuance (see below), motor vehicle dealer, and repairer licenses by specifying that all
those named on the license application must do so. Under prior law, this requirement applied to the
applicant or, if the applicant was a business entity, its officers and major stockholders (PA 25-159,
8§ 1 & 2, effective January 1, 2026).
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Dealers and Repairers Expanding to Adjacent Land

The legislature modified the standard for determining when a dealer or repairer can expand an
existing licensed location to cover adjacent property without getting another license. Under a new
law, they may do so only for land directly bordering or sharing a common boundary with the
licensed location without any intervening highway or private roadway. Prior law allowed this for
“adjacent” land but did not further define the term (PA 25-159, § 6, effective July 1, 2025).

Dealers and Repairs Record Retention

The legislature extended the required period for retaining records related to motor vehicle
purchase, sale, and repair transactions from two to three years after the transaction (PA 25-159, §
7, effective July 1, 2025).

Electronic Issuance Licenses

A new law explicitly prohibits DMV from issuing an electronic issuance license to dealers, repairers,
motor vehicle leasing or rental companies, or department contractors. An electronic issuance
license allows its holder to engage in the business of electronically processing title and registration
transactions; existing law already allowed the above entities to process title and registration
transactions without a license (PA 25-159, § 1, effective January 1, 2026).

Express Warranties Under the Uniform Commercial Code

A new law makes changes to laws on express warranties that affect, among others, car dealers and
manufacturers. Specifically, the new law expands who creates express warranties that goods will
conform to their description or samples under the Uniform Commercial Code (UCC). Previously,
these provisions only applied to sellers and lessors. Under the new law, they also apply to certain
wholesalers, distributers, retailers, and manufacturers. Among other things, the new law adds that
a promise to repair or replace defective goods is an express warranty that the goods will be
repaired or replaced (PA 25-111, §§ 44 & 45, effective October 1, 2025).

Low-Speed Vehicle Dealers

Under a new law, DMV may issue a motor vehicle dealer’s license to qualifying low-speed vehicle
(LSV) dealers that meet certain criteria without having to meet all criteria that otherwise apply to
dealers under existing law. Specifically, DMV may do this for businesses that (1) merchandise new
electric LSVs under a manufacturer’s or importer’s contract for each make of vehicle prior to July 1,
2025, and (2) incidental to the business, sell and repair these vehicles (PA 25-159, § 63, effective
July 1, 2025).

2025-R-0107 July 31, 2025 Page 10 of 23


https://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2025&bill_num=159
https://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2025&bill_num=159
https://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2025&bill_num=159
https://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2025&bill_num=111
https://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2025&bill_num=159

Motor Vehicles Prices and Certain Add-On Fees

A new law requires that the amount of a fee, charge, or cost for add-on consumer goods or services
be included in the advertised price of a motor vehicle and separately stated as “Additional Fees,
Charges and Costs.” This is in addition to existing requirements that the advertised price (1) include
the federal tax, delivery costs, dealer preparation fees, and other charges; (2) state that the
advertised price does not include the dealer conveyance or processing fee, state or local taxes, and
registration fees; and (3) separately state the amount of the dealer conveyance or processing fee.

The new law also requires a car dealer quoting a sale price to (1) include in the quote any fee,
charge, or cost for an optional add-on consumer good or service and (2) separately state the
amount of each of these fees, charges, and costs, and that they are optional.

It prohibits printing the dealer’s order and invoice forms with fees, charges, and costs for optional
add-on consumer goods or services before a discussion with a prospective buyer (PA 25-111, § 42,
and PA 25-113, § 21, effective October 1, 2025).

Motor Vehicle Recyclers

Under a new law, motor vehicle recyclers (1) must stop operating if their license expires; (2) must
pay a $100 late fee for late renewal applications; and (3) may not renew a license that has been
expired for more than 45 days (however, they may still apply for a new license) (PA 25-159, §§ 8 &
9, effective July 1, 2025).

New Motor Vehicle Lemon Law

The law requires a manufacturer to stamp “manufacturer buyback-lemon” on the title of a motor
vehicle under certain circumstances and give DMV a copy of the title. A new law (1) requires the
manufacturer to electronically submit to the Department of Consumer Protection (DCP) evidence
that the copy was timely submitted to DMV and (2) allows DCP to impose a fine for failing to provide
the copy to DMV or evidence to DCP (PA 25-111, § 40, effective July 1, 2025).

Towing Reform

New legislation enacted this session makes significant changes to the laws on nonconsensual
towing and vehicle disposal. Its major provisions include the following:

1. setting additional requirements and restrictions for towing from private property, including
requiring a written authorization form for each tow and 14 days’ notice before towing a
vehicle only for an expired registration;
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2. requiring towing companies to (a) release vehicles after hours within four hours after a
person’s request, (b) allow people to redeem their personal property without paying the
towing or storage fees, and (c) accept credit and debit cards and make change;

3. requiring DMV to develop a towing bill of rights to inform consumers of the towing laws and
specifying when it must be posted or distributed;

4. requiring DMV to establish separate rate schedules for private property trespass towing and
police-ordered towing instead of one schedule for all nonconsensual towing, modifying the
process for setting rates, and setting temporary rates for towing medium- and heavy-duty
vehicles;

5. extending the minimum time that garage owners must hold a vehicle before they can sell it
(from either 15 or 45 days to either 30 or 60 days, depending on the vehicle’s value), and
establishing a working group to consider further reforms to the vehicle disposal process; and

6. allowing municipalities to regulate nonconsensual towing and parking facility management
in @ manner consistent with state law (PA 25-55, most provisions effective October 1,
2025).

Driver’s Licenses, Registrations, and Certificates of Title

Annual Distribution of Special License Plate-Related Fees

State law establishes special license plates commemorating various organizations and causes, and
these plates typically carry additional fees that go to these causes or organizations. A new law
requires OPM to distribute fee revenue from “Olympic Spirit,” “Support for the Nursing Profession,”
and “Support Our Troops!” plates annually, rather than quarterly (PA 25-168, §§ 55-57, effective
upon passage).

The Borinqueneers License Plates

A new law requires the DMV commissioner to issue commemorative license plates in recognition of
“The Borinqueneers” and gives a portion of the fee to the Hispanic-American Veterans of
Connecticut, Inc. for bilingual services and assistance to veterans and service members (PA 25-15,
§ 3, effective January 1, 2026).

Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) and Learner’s Permit (CLP)
Restoration

Under a new law, any CDL holder whose license was downgraded to a class D license (e.g., due to
failure to submit a medical certificate) must pay the $175 license restoration fee in order to restore

their CDL. It requires the same for CLP holders seeking to restore a cancelled CLP (PA 25-159, § 5,
effective October 1, 2025).
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Driver’s License Suspension for Failure to Pay or Failure to Appear

A new law codifies the requirement to suspend a person’s driver’s license for failure to pay or
appear related to a motor vehicle violation and sets a 60-day notice period before the suspension
takes effect. It requires DMV, after receiving a report from the court, to send a suspension notice
(1) informing the person that his or her license will be suspended within 60 days after the notice
date unless the person reopens judgment with the appropriate court during this time period and (2)
giving instructions on how to file a motion to reopen and apply for a fee waiver with the court (PA
25-159, § 60, effective October 1, 2025).

Grace Period for Renewing Registration

New legislation extends, from 30 to 60 days, the grace period after a motor vehicle registration
expires during which a violation is considered “failure to renew” and subject to only an infraction
penalty and not a potential driver’s license suspension (PA 25-19, § 6, effective October 1, 2025).

Purple Heart License Plates

A new law allows veterans and servicemembers who get a license plate commemorating the
Military Order of the Purple Heart to be reimbursed for the cost of joining a chapter of the order (PA
25-15, § 4, effective July 1, 2025).

Titling Older Vehicles

New legislation requires DMV to develop a streamlined process for issuing title certificates at an
owner’s request for vehicles older than 20 model years that were not titled when registered. DMV
must report on the new process to the Transportation Committee by February 1, 2026 (PA 25-159,
8§ 11, effective upon passage).

Veteran License and Identification Renewal Fee Waivers

Under a new law, DMV must waive, or provide vouchers for waiving, the driver’s license or identity
card renewal fee for veterans who attend a one-day Stand Down event hosted by the Department of
Veterans Affairs (PA 25-15, § 5, effective July 1, 2025).

Video on Traffic Safety Laws at License Renewal

By law, the DMV must create a video about state laws impacting drivers, pedestrians, and bicyclists,
as well as ways to drive safely and reduce transportation-related fatalities and severe injuries.
Under a new law, driver’s license holders must watch the video each time they renew their license,
rather than every other time. (Generally, driver’s licenses are renewed every eight years.) (PA 25-
159, § 25, effective July 1, 2025).
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Women Veterans’ License Plates

A new law requires the DMV commissioner, if requested by a woman veteran or servicemember, to
register a motor vehicle and issue a special certificate of registration and a set of license plates
commemorating the woman'’s service (PA 25-15, § 2, effective July 1, 2025).

Driver Training

Driver Training and Evaluation for People With Disabilities

A law passed this session transfers, from the Department of Aging and Disability Services to DMV, a
unit responsible for people with disabilities’ driver training and evaluation. Additionally, under
existing law, staff working in the unit, while engaged in driver instruction or evaluation, have the
same authority and immunity with respect to these activities as motor vehicle inspectors. The new
law extends this authority and immunity to unit staff while examining people with disabilities’
driving ability (PA 25-148, § 8, and PA 25-168, § 339, effective July 1, 2025).

Eight-Hour Safe Driving Course Changes

A new law increases the maximum fee that may be charged for the eight-hour safe driving course
from $150 to $200 and requires any course held through distance learning to require participants
to use a camera (PA 25-159, §§ 4 & 27, effective October 1, 2025 for the fee increase and January
1, 2026 for the camera requirement).

Highway Safety and Traffic Control

Automated Enforcement Expansion Study

The legislature passed a new law requiring DOT to develop a plan to expand the use of speed
cameras on state roads and submit it to the Transportation Committee by February 1, 2026 (PA 25-
65, § 29, effective July 1, 2025).

Complete Streets Implementation

A new law explicitly (1) requires the DOT commissioner to give technical assistance to
municipalities and councils of governments on adopting and implementing Complete Streets
policies and (2) permits him to administer municipal grants for supporting public highway
improvement projects that incorporate these policies. Complete Streets policies promote safe
accommodation of all users of the transportation system, and states and metropolitan planning
organizations are required to use a portion of federal funds to implement these policies (PA 25-65,
§ 21, effective July 1, 2025).
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Driving in Extreme Left Lane on Limited Access Highways

Starting October 1, 2026, a new law extends the general prohibition on driving in the extreme left
lane on limited access highways with more than two lanes going in the same direction to all
vehicles, rather than just vehicles with commercial registrations and similar vehicles. The new law
also requires the department to install signs and implement a related public awareness campaign
(PA 25-65, §§ 16-18, effective October 1, 2025, except the public awareness campaign provision is
effective July 1, 2025).

Fine for Failure to Yield to Pedestrians

A new law increases, from $500 to $750, the maximum fine for drivers who (1) fail to yield to
pedestrians crossing the road at a crosswalk or (2) commit other related violations (PA 25-65, § 15,
effective October 1, 2025).

Intelligent Speed Assistance Devices Study

Under a new law, the Vision Zero Council and the chief state’s attorney must jointly study the
feasibility of addressing speeding and reckless driving violations with intelligent speed assistance
devices (which, when installed in a vehicle, limit the vehicle’s speed based on the speed limit) and
report their findings by January 15, 2026. Among other things, the study must consider the devices’
accuracy and reliability and consider whether to recommend their use to the legislature. Any
recommendation must outline a regulatory framework for their use, including the types and number
of violations for which they may be required (PA 25-65, § 22, effective upon passage).

Motorcycle Helmets

A new law increases, from age 18 to 21, the age under which all motorcycle and motor-driven cycle
drivers and passengers must wear a helmet that meets federal helmet safety standards (PA 25-65,
8 19, effective October 1, 2025).

Parking Distance From Crosswalks and Certain Signs

A new law increases the minimum distance between a parking spot and an intersection or
approach and requires traffic authorities to adhere to the new distances when installing or
reinstalling parking spot markings (PA 25-65, § 4, effective October 1, 2025).

Reckless Driving Penalties

A new law establishes enhanced penalties under the reckless driving law for drivers who drive
faster than 100 mph, including increased fines and impounding the driver’s vehicle for subsequent
offenses (PA 25-19, §§ 9-14, effective October 1, 2025).
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Another new law requires drivers to attend an operator’s retraining program upon their first
conviction of reckless driving. Under prior law, attendance after a reckless driving conviction was
required only if the driver had accumulated four total moving violations (PA 25-65, § 23, effective
October 1, 2025).

Service Signs on Limited Access Highways

New legislation allows “EV CHARGING,” or any other word permitted under the federal MUTCD, to
be included on “specific service signs,” which are rectangular signs generally visible from limited
access highways with (1) the words “GAS,” “FOOD,” “LODGING,” “CAMPING,” or “ATTRACTION” and
(2) exit directional information for the designated service (PA 25-65, § 5, effective July 1, 2025).

Special Crosswalk Markings

This session, a new law (1) eliminates a provision of prior law specifically allowing local traffic
authorities to install specially marked crosswalks near schools and (2) repeals a statute requiring
the Office of the State Traffic Administration (OSTA) and local traffic authorities, on roads under
their respective jurisdictions, to provide special pedestrian street or sidewalk markings at
intersections and streets near projects for elderly people. (Existing law allows local traffic
authorities to designate crosswalks in a manner that complies with OSTA regulations, which
generally require all markings on public roads to comply with the federal MUTCD.) (PA 25-65, §§ 15
& 66, effective October 1, 2025, except the repealer is effective July 1, 2025.)

Street Takeovers and the Illegal Use of Vehicles

New legislation makes several changes in laws related to street takeovers and the illegal use of
certain motor vehicles, including:

1. changing the license penalties for violating a state law against illegal street racing and street
takeovers, including setting a two-year license suspension for a third or subsequent violation;

2. authorizing municipalities to adopt ordinances that penalize street takeovers;

3. allowing municipalities to destroy all-terrain vehicles (ATVs), dirt bikes, and mini-motorcycles
that are seized and forfeited for violating a municipal ordinance and allowing all
municipalities, not just those over a certain size, to adopt ordinances for the seizure and
forfeiture of dirt bikes or mini-motorcycles for violations;

4. limiting, to 90 days, certain protections from forfeiture for ATVs, dirt bikes, and mini-
motorcycles following an ordinance violation;

5. setting a minimum $2,000 fine for a subsequent offense of (a) evading responsibility in an
accident causing property damage or (b) driving a vehicle for an illegal race, contest,
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demonstration, or street takeover; and

6. requiring violations of municipal ordinances regulating ATVs, snowmobiles, dirt bikes, mini-
motorcycles, and street takeovers to be processed like infractions through the Centralized
Infractions Bureau, unless a municipal ordinance sets a payment and hearing procedure that
complies with state law (PA 25-80, most provisions effective October 1, 2025).

Traffic Law Exemptions for Port Eastside Infrastructure
Improvement District

This session, the legislature authorized a special taxing district in East Hartford, the Port Eastside
Infrastructure Improvement District, to provide services and finance infrastructure improvements in
a designated area encompassing about 30 acres along the Connecticut River. Among its provisions,
this new law exempts these improvements from the requirement that major traffic-generating
developments get a certificate of operation from OSTA and from other specified traffic control laws
(PA 25-90, effective upon passage).

Vehicle Equipment Violations

A new law decreases the standard for what constitutes certain license plate, headlight, or
windshield equipment violations and is subject to a motor vehicle stop (PA 25-19, §§ 1-5, effective
October 1, 2025).

Vehicle Stops for Cannabis Use

A law passed this session allows police to stop a motor vehicle for a violation of the laws against
using cannabis in a vehicle if the officer sees the operator actively consuming it and smells burnt
cannabis. Prior law prohibited an officer from stopping a vehicle if the cannabis violation would be
the only reason for the stop (PA 25-19, §§ 7 & 8, effective October 1, 2025).

Highway Worker Safety
DOT Work Zone Speed Camera Locations

New legislation removes the cap on the number of highway work zones where DOT may
simultaneously operate speed cameras under its work zone speed camera program. Prior law
capped the number of work zones at 15 (PA 25-65, § 36, effective upon passage).
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Fines for Violations of “Move Over” Law or Aggravated Endangerment
of a Highway Worker

This session, the legislature increased the penalties for violations of the “move over” law and the
law on endangering highway workers that result in the injury or death of an emergency vehicle
driver or occupant or a highway worker.

The state’s “move over” law generally requires drivers to move over when approaching a slow or
stationary emergency vehicle. Violators are subject to higher fines if the violation results in an
emergency vehicle driver’s or occupant’s injury or death. The act increases the maximum penalties
from $2,500 to $5,000 in the case of injury and from $10,000 to $20,000 in the case of death.

By law, drivers commit the offense of “aggravated endangerment of a highway worker” if they are
convicted of specified offenses in a highway work zone that result in a highway worker’s serious
physical injury or death. The act increases the maximum penalties for this offense from up to
$5,000 to up to $10,000 in the case of injury and from $10,000 to $20,000 in the case of death
(PA 25-159, §§ 64 & 65, effective October 1, 2025).

Highway Work Zone and Roadside Vehicle Safety Awareness Program

This session, the legislature created a new, DMV-administered highway work zone and roadside
vehicle safety awareness program. Starting January 1, 2026, the act generally requires this
program to be completed (1) by individuals seeking a driver’s license and (2) drivers convicted of
violating the law on endangering highway workers or the “move over” law. Under the new law,
violators required to complete the program are subject to license suspension if they commit
additional moving violations during a specified time period (PA 25-159, §§ 26-28, effective October
1, 2025).

Impaired Driving and Boating

Incident Reports and the Administrative Per Se Process

A new law eliminates the specific deadline for police officers to mail reports to DMV after driving
under the influence (DUI) arrests. The reports contain the grounds for arrest and chemical test
results, among other information, and DMV uses them when imposing administrative licensing
sanctions on those arrested for DUI. Prior law required that officers prepare this report and send it
within 6 business days after the arrest. Under the new law, the report must be prepared within this
timeframe, but mailing it within this timeframe is not required (PA 25-159, § 61, effective July 1,
2025).
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Reciprocal Suspension Penalties

New legislation imposes reciprocal driver’s license, boating certificate, and personal watercraft
certificate suspension penalties for convictions of DUl and boating under the influence (BUI) and
related administrative per se violations. Generally, the new law applies the credential suspension
penalties for one offense to the equivalent offense in the other law (for example, a second DUI
offense also subjects a person to the certificate suspension that applies for a second BUI offense).
For driver’s license suspensions, a required period of ignition interlock device use applies as a
condition of license restoration, regardless of whether the offense triggering the suspension was
committed in a motor vehicle or a boat. The legislation also expands which prior DUI or BUI
convictions count as a prior offense when determining which penalties apply to a person facing a
new DUI or BUI charge (PA 25-159, §§ 12-19, effective October 1, 2025).

Ports
Port Authority Board Annual Report

By law, the Connecticut Port Authority (CPA) board of directors must annually report to the governor
and Transportation Committee on various topics (including CPA projects, finances, and legislative
recommendations). A new law eliminates the requirement that the Department of Administrative
Services and OPM jointly review and comment on the report before CPA submits it (PA 25-168, §
53, effective upon passage).

Small Harbor Improvement Projects Program

A new law codifies and provides additional funding for CPA’s Small Harbor Improvement Projects
Program, which provides grants for improvements at harbors in the state that are not under CPA’s
authority (i.e. small harbors). The new law funds the program with an existing $20 million general
obligation (GO) bond authorization and subjects the bonds to the standard State Bond Commission
approval process. It also makes minor changes to program eligibility and allows the program to
provide reimbursements for projects under certain circumstances (PA 25-65, §§ 32-34, effective
July 1, 2025).

Transportation Funding and Capital Projects

Environmental License or Permit Hearings

A new law changes the procedural requirements for petitioned hearings on Department of Energy
and Environmental Protection licenses and permits, which could affect transportation capital
projects (with certain exceptions). Among other things, the new law generally requires public
informational hearings that are not subject to the Uniform Administrative Procedures Act unless a
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petition meets certain requirements (such as when a petition signatory’s rights, duties, or privileges
will be, or may reasonably be expected to be, affected by the decision on the license, or the
petitioners can intervene under certain environmental laws) (PA 25-84, §§ 4-8, effective upon
passage).

Federal Surface Transportation Funding

A new law expands the DOT commissioner’s existing authority to enter into agreements with the
U.S. Secretary of Transportation, local officials, or both, regarding federal and state funding for
certain roadways and facilities (PA 25-65, §§ 6-8, effective July 1, 2025).

Municipal Speed and Red Light Camera Revenue

By law, fine revenue from municipal speed and red light cameras may be used to improve
transportation mobility, invest in transportation infrastructure, and pay costs associated with
camera use. A new law specifies that these costs include reimbursing a vendor for speed and red
light camera design, installation, operation, or maintenance (PA 25-65, § 30, effective July 1,
2025).

Paying Down Special Transportation Fund-Supported Debt

A new law extends and makes permanent a change made in 2024 requiring that a portion of the
Special Transportation Fund’s (STF) remaining balance at the end of the fiscal year be deemed
appropriated to pay off STF-supported debt. Under the act, beginning with FY 25, if the remaining
balance in the STF after the accounts have been closed for the fiscal year and any required
transfers have been made exceeds 18% of the fund’s appropriations for the current fiscal year, the
state treasurer must use the excess to pay down certain STF-supported debt, as he determines to
be in the state’s best interest. The act also requires the treasurer to report on his use of these
excess funds in his annual report to the governor (PA 25-168, §§ 389-390, effective upon
passage).

Town Aid Road (TAR) Eligible Uses and Grant Reduction Trigger

The TAR program provides grants to municipalities for highway and bridge maintenance and
improvements and for and other transportation-related purposes. A new law specifies that eligible
highway and bridge maintenance and improvements includes those projects intended to increase
resiliency against increased precipitation, flooding, sea level rise, and extreme heat (PA 25-33, §
10, effective July 1, 2025).
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Another new law requires the OPM secretary to reduce a grant to a town or district under TAR by
10% in any fiscal year that the town or district fails to timely submit its annual report to the DOT
commissioner (the report is due September 1 annually) detailing how the program funds it received
were used during the previous fiscal year. However, the new law requires the secretary to waive a
reduction if the town or district submits its report after the due date and gives him proof of its
submission (PA 25-174, § 60, effective July 1, 2025).

Transportation Network Companies (TNCs)
TNC Law Changes

This session, the legislature made various changes to laws on TNCs (such as Uber and Lyft).
Specifically, the act (1) requires registered TNCs, starting by January 1, 2026, to annually report
specified information to DOT based on aggregate data from the prior year and (2) creates certain
requirements related to TNC drivers, such as prohibiting TNCs from taking retaliatory action against
a driver only because he or she filed a complaint with the company and requiring them to give
prospective drivers information about enrolling in the state’s Paid Family and Medical Leave
Insurance Program.

The act also replaces prior law’s $5,000 initial state registration and annual renewal fees for TNCs
with fees that vary between $5,000 and $30,000 based on the number of drivers with an active
account on the TNC’s digital network at the time of registration or renewal (PA 25-65, §§ 25-27,
effective October 1, 2025).

TNC and Third-Party Delivery Company Study and Working Group

Legislation passed this session requires the comptroller to study the compensation of TNC and
third-party delivery company drivers. The act also creates a working group on TNC and third-party
delivery company driver working conditions and compensation (PA 25-168, §§ 228-229, effective
upon passage).

Miscellaneous

Accessible Parking Space Width Requirements

A new law authorizes the State Building Code to impose greater width requirements for accessible
parking spaces than otherwise required by law to accommodate electric vehicle charging stations
(PA 25-108, § 2, effective October 1, 2025).
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Connecticut Plane Coordinate System

A new law replaces the Connecticut coordinate systems by establishing a new Connecticut Plane
Coordinate System based on National Geodetic Survey updates to the National Spatial Reference
System and requires the DOT commissioner to take certain actions. Coordinate systems generally
allow geographic datasets to use common locations so that they can be viewed and used together
(PA 25-65, §§ 1 & 2, effective January 1, 2026).

Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Program

The Public Utilities Regulatory Authority (PURA) established an EV charging program in 2021. A new
law authorizes up to $50 million in GO bonds to fund the program ($30 million in FY 26 and $20
million in FY 27) and requires PURA to limit program expenses for light-duty EV charging activities to
$20 million per year. It also limits eligibility for the residential single family customer program to
residents who live in a concentrated poverty census tract or have incomes below 300% of the
federal poverty level (PA 25-173, §§ 2 & 3, effective October 1, 2025, except the bonding
authorization is effective July 1, 2025).

Highway Right-of-Way Encroachment Permit Fees

New legislation eliminates a provision of prior law requiring the DOT commissioner to charge fees
for certain state highway right-of-way encroachment permit applications that reflect the fees the
Massachusetts Department of Transportation charges for these permits. Specifically, the
requirement applied to open air theaters, shopping centers, and other major traffic-generating
developments. The new law instead allows the commissioner to establish fees for these permit
applications in the same manner existing law allows for state highway right-of-way encroachment
permits and certificates of operation for open air theaters, shopping centers, and other major
traffic-generating developments (PA 25-65, § 14, effective July 1, 2025).

Parking Near a Fire Hydrant

This session, the legislature established a fine of up to $200 for subsequent violations of existing
law’s prohibition on vehicles remaining stationary within 10 feet of any fire hydrant. These
violations are processed like infractions through the Centralized Infractions Bureau. First violations
remain infractions, as was the case for all violations under prior law (PA 25-65, §§ 4 & 31, effective
October 1, 2025).

Payment Plans for Motor Vehicle Violations

Starting July 1, 2028, a new law (1) allows anyone charged with a motor vehicle-related infraction
or a violation that is processed like an infraction through the Centralized Infractions Bureau to pay

2025-R-0107 July 31, 2025 Page 22 of 23


https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?which_year=2025&selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=65
https://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2025&bill_num=4
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?which_year=2025&selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=65
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?which_year=2025&selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=65

under a 12-month installment plan and (2) requires the bureau to provide this option, within
available resources, on its website. The payment plans must include all fines and related fees or
costs, and the bureau may accept payments higher than the monthly installment amount. The act
allows the bureau to assess an additional fee of up to $15 to cover related administrative costs,
which must be deposited in the Judicial Data Processing Revolving Fund (PA 25-159, §§ 59 & 60,
effective October 1, 2025).

Yellow Envelopes for People With Cognitive Impairments or Physical
Disabilities

The legislature enacted a new law requiring DMV, in consultation with the Commission on Women,
Children, Seniors, Equity and Opportunity (CWCSEOQ) and other specified entities, to develop yellow
envelopes for people with cognitive impairments or physical disabilities and related public
awareness materials. The yellow envelopes must (1) be designed to hold a driver’s license,
registration, insurance card, and other materials about a person’s cognitive impairment or physical
disability and (2) have information on how first responders can accommodate and effectively
interact with these individuals.

The act requires DMV to provide the yellow envelopes and public awareness materials to its
department offices and certain first responders. It correspondingly requires these people and
entities to give the envelopes and materials, by request and at no cost, to people with a cognitive
impairment or physical disability. It also (1) requires CWCSEO to coordinate and identify related
education and training programs for first responders and (2) expands several existing training
requirements for various first responders to include information about the envelopes (and also blue
envelopes, which are used by people with autism spectrum disorder) (PA 25-159, §§ 29-34,
effective upon passage, except certain training requirements are effective January 1, 2026).
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